Steering Committee

DCNP is for members, led by members.

A volunteer Steering Committee serves in an advisory role to determine the strategic direction of DCNP. The Steering Committee consists of nonprofit representatives and resource providers to the nonprofit sector.

Steering Committee Member Organization Represented
Ben Bingle
Secretary/Treasurer (non-voting)
DeKalb County Nonprofit Partnership
Micki Chulick DeKalb County Community Foundation board liaison
Michelle Donahoe
Steering Committee Chair, Giving Day Committee
Chair, Governance & Nominating Committee Chair
DeKalb County History Center
Chris Einolf Northern Illinois University – Center for Nonprofit and NGO Studies
Karen Grush DeKalb County Community Foundation board liaison
Samantha Hathaway DeKalb Public Library
Cindy Khatri
Marketing & Membership Committee Chair
Nonprofit volunteer and advocate
LaCretia Konan Kishwaukee College – Workforce and Community Education
Paul LaLonde Voluntary Action Center
Dawn Littlefield
Program Committee Chair
Kishwaukee United Way
Tom Matya Zea Mays Holdings, LLC
Kristin Miller Northern Illinois University Foundation
Alex Nerad
Nonprofit Day Committee Chair
Egyptian Theatre
Susan Petersen
Steering Committee Vice-Chair
Community Coordinated Child Care (4-C)
Lynette Spencer Adventure Works

The DCNP Steering Committee represents the areas of art and culture, education, health and human services, advocacy, community development, and civic engagement.


The following sub-committees are responsible for making progress toward the implementation of our strategic plan:

Giving Day Committee—coordinates and implements our annual philanthropic day of giving, Give DeKalb County

Governance & Nominating Committee—updates bylaws annually as needed, recruits new committee members, and manages committee transitions

Marketing & Membership Committee—focuses on growing membership, retaining current members, and promoting DCNP

Nonprofit Day Committee—coordinates our annual conference

Program Committee—identifies training opportunities, determines program topics, and evaluates the effectiveness of our programs

Research & Advocacy Ad Hoc Committee—identifies knowledge gaps, suggests research to fill these gaps, and organizes advocacy efforts

If you are a DCNP-member and are interested in joining one of our committees, please contact us.